BPL 2017 : Comilla Victorians win against Khulna Titans in 32nd match

Beating Khulna Titans by 9 wickets, Comilla Victorians won the 32nd match of Bangladesh Premier League 2017. The game was played on 28th November at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium, Chittagong. Batting first, Khulna Titans scored 111 runs in 19.2 overs. Comilla Victorians successfully chased the target of 112 runs in just 14 overs.

After winning the toss, Khulna Titans elected to bat first. The team could not start its inning with a good partnership between the opener batsmen. Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Rilee Russouw failed to score double digit runs in the initial phase of the game. Hitting 1 four, Nazmul scored 8 runs in 6 balls. Russouw returned to pavilion without scoring a single run.

Next batsmen Afif Hossain and Mahmudullah didn’t manage to hit maximum runs for the team. Hossain scored 8 runs while Mahmudullah hit 14 runs. After the fall of Hossain’s wicket, Nicholas Pooran came to bat next. Without scoring any run, Pooran lost his wicket in 6th over. Almost half of the team returned to pavilion by the mid of first inning.

After Mahmudullah’s dismissal in 7th over, Ariful Haque stepped into the field to bat next. Caribbean cricketer Carlos Brathwaite accompanied the Bangladeshi cricketer in scoring runs for their team. Haque scored 24 runs in 24 balls while the right arm all rounder West Indian scored 13 runs in 14 balls. Contribution of the two players helped their team in taking the total score beyond half century.

After the two players lost their wickets, Kyle Abott and Shafiul Islam arrived in the ground to bat next. The two cricketers scored 16 runs each and took the overall score beyond triple digit figure. Efforts of the batsmen in bottom order of batting lineup assisted the total score in crossing 100 runs by the end of twentieth over.

Comilla Victorians’ bowlers Shoaib Malik and Al-Amin Hossain picked up three wickets each. Mahedi Hasan, Hasan Ali, Dwayne Bravo and Mohammad Saifuddin took one wicket each. Comilla Victorians started the run-chase with speedy approach. Opener batsmen Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das gave a good start to the second inning.

Hitting twelve fours, Iqbal scored 64 runs in 42 balls. Das hit 4 fours and scored 21 runs in 20 balls. After he lost his wicket in eighth over, Imrul Kayes replaced him as a next batsman. Hitting 3 fours, Kayes scored 22 runs in 21 balls. Victorians successfully chased the target in 13.5 overs with the loss of one wicket. Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Malik received ‘Player of the Match’ for his excellent performance in bowling.

Comilla Victorians is scheduled to play its next match against Dhaka Dynamites on 29th November. Khulna Titans is all set to confront with Rangpur Riders in its upcoming cricket match of this league. The game is about to be played on 3rd December at Sher-E-Bangla stadium, which is situated in Dhaka.

Upcoming Cricket Matches, Schedule, Fixtures, Highlights, Score, News, Results, Test, ODI, T20 © 2017 Frontier Theme