BPL 2017 Match 33 : Rajshahi Kings beat Chittagong Vikings by 33 runs

Defeating Chittagong Vikings by 33 runs, Rajshahi Kings registered victory in 33rd match of ongoing Bangladesh Premier League. The team batted first and scored 157 runs in 20 overs. Failing to chase the triple target set by the opponents, Chittagong Vikings lost the T20 match on its home-ground. Chittagong’s team could score 124 runs in 19.2 overs.

After winning the toss, Rajshahi Kings opted to bat first. Opener batsmen Mominul Haque and Luke Wright gave a moderate start to their inning. After scoring 7 runs in 9 balls, Haque lost his wicket in 2nd over of the game. Wicket-keeper batsman Zakir Hasan replaced his as the next batsman and scored 17 runs in 11 balls. Hasan bowled out by Luis Ree in 6th over.

Hasan’s dismissal made Mushfiquer Rahim step into the field to bat next. The right handed cricketer smashed 31 runs in 22 balls. Luke Wright, who scored 25 runs in 21 balls, was strong at the other end of strike. Wright lost his wicket in 9th over. Australian cricketer James Franklin accompanied Mushfiquer in taking the team’s total score beyond triple digit figure.

Hitting 2 fours, Franklin scored 30 runs in 30 balls. Meanwhile, Mushfiquer lost his wicket in 12th over of the match. Caribbean cricketer Darren Sammy came to bat next after Rahim’s dismissal. The all rounder West Indian cricketer, who is globally popular for hitting huge shots, played pivotal role in enhancing the overall run rate of his team.

Hitting 3 sixes and 2 fours, Sammy scored 40 runs in 25 balls. After Sammy and Franklin lost their wickets in the final phase of the game, batsmen in bottom order of batting lineup didn’t score much runs. The team ended up scoring 157 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 6 wickets. Vikings’ bowler Luis Ree picked up three wickets while Nayeem Hasan, Sunzamul Islam and Taskin Ahmed took one wicket each.

Chittagong’s team began the run-chase with a decent start. After scoring 8 runs in 4 balls, opener batsman Luke Ronchi lost his wicket in very first over. Next batsman Anamul Haque accompanied 2nd opener batsman Soumya Sarkar in the run-chase. Haque scored 23 runs in 20 balls while Sarkar hit 13 runs in 15 balls.

After the loss of their wickets, Stiaan van Zyl and Sikandar Raza came to bat next. The two cricketers scored decent runs. Zyle scored 27 runs in 29 balls while Raza scored 17 runs in 17 balls. Batsmen in bottom order of batting lineup, except Tanbir Hayder, could contribute majorly in chasing the runs . Hayder scored 13 runs in 12 balls. Loosing all ten wickets, Chittagong Vikings scored 124 runs.

Rajshahi Kings’ bowler Qazi Onik picked up four wickets while Mustafizur Rahman took two wickets. Usama Mir and Mohammad Sami picked up one wicket each while the other bowlers went wicketless in the game. Darren Sammy bagged ‘Player of the Match’ award for showcasing excellent batting performance in the match.

Rajshahi Kings will face Dhaka Dynamites in its upcoming cricket match in this tournament. The T20 game is about to be played on 2nd December at Sher-E-Bangla national cricket stadium, which is situated in Dhaka. Chittagong Vikings will confront with Sylhet Sixers in its next match which will be played on 3rd December this year.

Upcoming Cricket Matches, Schedule, Fixtures, Highlights, Score, News, Results, Test, ODI, T20 © 2017 Frontier Theme