BPL 2017 Match 35 : Comilla Victorians beat Rangpur Riders by 4 wickets

In the 35th match of ongoing Bangladesh Premier League, Comilla Victorians defeated Rangpur Riders by 8 wickets. The match was played on 2nd November 2017 at Sher-E-Bangla national cricket stadium located in Dhaka. Victorians successfully chased the target of minor triple digit score and maintain its top rank in BPL points table.

After winning the toss, Comilla Victorians elected to bowl first. Opener batsmen of Rangpur Riders could perform well in the initial phase of the match. Ziaur Rahman and Chris Gayle failed to give a good start to their inning. Ziaur scored 6 runs in 9 balls while Gayle walked back to pavilion without scoring a single run in the match.

The failure of top order of batting lineup didn’t impact the performance of next batsmen who took their team’s total score beyond 50 runs. Brendon McCullum and Mohammad Mithun were the players to bat next. McCullum 1 six and 2 fours to score 27 runs in 34 balls. Mithun managed to score 17 runs in 14 balls.

After the fall of their wickets, players in middle and bottom order of batting lineup could not even score double digit individual runs. English cricketer Ravi Bopara scored 4 runs in 6 balls while Chamara Kapugedera made 2 runs in 4 balls. Next batsmen Nahidul Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza and Isuru Udana scored 6 runs, 9 runs and 9 runs, respectively.

Sohag Gazi and Nazmul Islam tried to add maximum runs to the team’s overall score in the end. Gazi scored 12 runs in 10 balls and the team ended up scoring 97 runs in 17.1 overs with the loss of ten wickets. Victorians’ bowler Mahedi Hasan picked up 4 wickets while Mohammad Saifuddin took three wickets. Hasan Ali and Al-Amin Hossain picked up one wicket each.

Victorians failed to begin the run-chase with a satisfactory partnership between the opener batsmen. Partnership between Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das did not last for long time on the field. After scoring 3 runs in 7 balls, Das lost his wicket in 4th over of the 2nd inning. Imrul Kayes was the man to bat next after Latin’s dismissal.

Kayes scored 14 runs in 26 balls while Iqbal scored 22 runs in 22 balls. Iqbal lost his wicket in 7th over and Jos Buttler replaced him as the next batsman. Buttler failed to score huge runs for the team and returned to pavilion after scoring 5 runs in 9 balls. Next batsman Shaoib Malik scored 20 runs in 24 balls. Meanwhile, Kayes lost his wicket and Caribbean cricketer Marlon Samuels came to bat next.

Samuels played added 16 runs in 18 balls and remained not out till the end. After Malik lost his wicket in 15th over, Mohammad Saifuddin came to bat next. Scoring 5 runs in 10 balls, Mohammad walked back to pavilion in 19th over. Hasan Ali stepped into the ground as next batsman and scored 6 runs in 1 ball.

Hitting 4 runs on the final ball, Samuels finished the game and Victorians registered a 4-wicket win against the opponents. Rangpur Riders’ bowler Mashrafe Mortaza picked up three wickets while Nazmul Islam took 3 wickets. Sohag Gazi grabbed one wicket while rest all pacers and spinners went wicketless in this match. Mahedi Hasan received ‘Player of the Match’ award for his excellent bowling performance.

Comilla Victorians is scheduled to take on Khulna Titans in its upcoming cricket match of Bangladesh Premier League 2017. The T20 match will be played on 5th December 2017. Rangpur Riders will be confronting with Khulna Titans in BPL’s 38th match which will is going to be played on 3rd December at Sher-E-Bangla stadium.

Upcoming Cricket Matches, Schedule, Fixtures, Highlights, Score, News, Results, Test, ODI, T20 © 2017 Frontier Theme